ARC Technology Development Policy is based on industry standards and relevant regulations. Our policy is to cover system development software releases at ARC Technology. This provides the foundation for all system development life cycle activities. Adherence to the Policy ensures the development projects will follow a consistent, controlled and managed lifecycle.

Definition of system development Life cycle

The ARC Technology standard life cycle for system development is the SDLC Framework. The SDLC Framework defines:

  1. Release classifications
  2. Development phases
  3. Development deliverables
  4. Engagements
  5. Process Controls
  6. Process Governance

Requirements established by this process represent minimum administrative requirements only and have the specific purpose of providing a standard mechanism for demonstrating (minimum) due diligence and control with regard to spending the firm's resources. These requirements do not constitute or replace comprehensive project management and/or project-risk mitigation practices, which remain the responsibility of the project manager based on PRINCE2 methodology.

Management Controls

All staff managing systems development activities are accountable to ensure that:

  1. The SDLC is followed as appropriate to the release classification;
  2. ARC Technology component standards are adhered to throughout the development lifecycle;
  3. Engagement of relevant Enterprise wide functions e.g. Architecture, Infrastructure, IS, Change Control at the appropriate point in the lifecycle.
  4. All project documentation and deliverables are retained and readily available.
  5. Appropriate sponsorship/ approval throughout the lifecycle.

Development Controls

All staff involved in systems development activities must:

  1. Ensure systems usage, operation and source code is appropriately documented and maintained;
  2. Adhere to relevant ARC Technology IT development standards and information technology control policies throughout the development lifecycle;
  3. Perform appropriate testing to prove conformance to defined requirements and mitigate business risk;
  4. Remain up to date with current SDLC process and controls.